Daytona America Superbike Race 1 Results

The 2010 AMA Pro American Superbike season got off to a great start yesterday with the running of the first race at Daytona, Florida. The racing was close and the first 5 riders were separated by just 3/10ths of a second.

Jake Zemke won the race from Tommy Hayden with Team Foremost Ducati’s, Larry Pegram, finishing in 3rd. Pegram had qualified on the front row on his Ducati 1198R but came up a little short on the line after leading the race for a couple of laps at the 2/3rds distance mark.

There was a lot of interest in how Josh Hayes would run along with MotoGP / World Superbike refugee, John Hopkins. Both had disappointing 2010 debuts. Hopper returned to the pits shortly after the race started whilst Hayes ran off the track early on and was never a factor in the race. It was reported that he had clutch and tire problems.

Shawn Higbee and Barrett Long also fielded Ducati and finished 8th and 10th respectively.

Zemke 1st:- “The beginning of the race I was just feeling the bike out. We made some significant changes from qualifying, basically every time I went on the track. We had one test before we came here.”

Pegram 3rd:- “If it was Tommy in the lead, things might have been different. But Jake’s bike seemed to have a little more steam.”

link: Motorcycle USA

Pegram plans to make some changes for today’s 2nd race in an attempt to be able to stand on the top box.

“Well I finished third in first race. I thought we had a good chance to win but just came up short at the line. Top five finished within .3 of a second so close race. Tomorrow is a new day and I plan to make some changes.”

link: Facebook – Larry Pegram

2010 Daytona American Superbike Race 1 Results
1. Jake Zemke (Suzuki)
2. Tommy Hayden (Suzuki) +0.238
3. Larry Pegram (Ducati) +0.259
4. Aaron Yates (Suzuki) +0.291
5. Blake Young (Suzuki) +0.307
6. Chris Ulrich (Suzuki) +27.398
7. Taylor Knapp (Suzuki) +27.43
8. Shawn Higbee (Ducati) +1 lap
9. Shane Narbonne (Suzuki) +9.078
10. Barrett Long (Ducati) +16.377
11. Chris Clark (Yamaha) +16.427
12. Eric Haugo (Suzuki) +16.989
13. Josh Hayes (Yamaha) +01:14.2
14. Johnny Rock Page (Suzuki) +01:23.2
15. Eric Pinson (BMW) +01:43.2
16. Trent Gibson (Suzuki) +01:43.3
17. Skip Salenius (Suzuki) +1 lap
18. Ben Bostrom (Yamaha)
19. Jeffrey Tigert (Honda) +6 laps
20. Brett McCormick (Suzuki) +10 laps
21. David Anthony (Suzuki) +14 laps
22. Scott Jensen (Suzuki)

One Response to “Daytona America Superbike Race 1 Results”

  1. […] 2010 AMA Pro American Superbike season continued on from the first Daytona Superbike race with the first 4 bikes finishing within 2/10ths of a second. The full results are after the […]