Rossi Takes his Rightful Place at the Top with Jerez Win

Reigning World Champion, Valentino Rossi, finally took a race win in the 2009 season at Jerez today during Round 3 of the 2009 MotoGP Championship.

After teammate Jorge Lorenzo qualified on pole, many expected the young Spaniard to run away with the race. Instead it was another local who leaped off the line and factory Repsol Honda rider, Dani Pedrosa, led for much of the race. Pedrosa quickly opened up a 1 second lead from Stoner, Lorenzo and Rossi. After dispatching his teammate, Rossi slowly overhauled Stoner on the factory Ducati and set off after Pedrosa. The Honda rider put on a valiant effort but eventually succumbed to Rossi. Meanwhile, Lorenzo closed on Stoner and looked as if he would take a place on the podium. It wasn’t to be as he lost the front end with 3 laps to go. He remounted but there was too much damage to continue.

Randy De Puniet impressed with his 4th place finish as did Marco Melandri on the Hayate Racing Kawasaki. Mika Kallio retired making Sete Gibernau’s 11th place the next Ducati home after Stoner. Nicky Hayden continued his troubled season to date with a 15th place finish.

Rossi now leads the championship after 3 rounds with 65 points from Stoner on 54. Pedrosa and Lorenzo both have 41 points. The next race will be at Le Mans, France on May 17th.

Race Results: MotoGP – Jerez

1 25 46 Valentino ROSSI ITA Fiat Yamaha Team Yamaha 45’18.557 2 20 3 Dani PEDROSA SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 45’21.257 3 16 27 Casey STONER AUS Ducati Marlboro Team Ducati 45’29.064 4 13 14 Randy DE PUNIET FRA LCR Honda MotoGP Honda 45’50.450 5 11 33 Marco MELANDRI ITA Hayate Racing Team Kawasaki 45’51.685 6 10 65 Loris CAPIROSSI ITA Rizla Suzuki MotoGP Suzuki 45’52.685 7 9 5 Colin EDWARDS USA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 45’52.978 8 8 4 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA Repsol Honda Team Honda 45’53.182 9 7 24 Toni ELIAS SPA San Carlo Honda Gresini Honda 46’01.246 10 6 7 Chris VERMEULEN AUS Rizla Suzuki MotoGP Suzuki 46’03.740 11 5 59 Sete GIBERNAU SPA Grupo Francisco Hernando Ducati 46’06.749 12 4 72 Yuki TAKAHASHI JPN Scot Racing Team MotoGP Honda 46’10.432 13 3 52 James TOSELAND GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 46’12.240 14 2 15 Alex DE ANGELIS RSM San Carlo Honda Gresini Honda 46’12.498 15 1 69 Nicky HAYDEN USA Ducati Marlboro Team Ducati 46’19.794 16 88 Niccolo CANEPA ITA Pramac Racing Ducati 46’29.453 Not classified 99 Jorge LORENZO SPA Fiat Yamaha Team Yamaha 38’40.226 4 Lap 36 Mika KALLIO FIN Pramac Racing Ducati 20’38.937 15 Lap Other Results (RAC)

Source: MotoGP Official Site

Comments are closed.